Big Beard Brewsconsin Beer Review # 2 – Goose Island Sofie and Pepe Nero

GOOSE ISLAND 

sofie_2010SOFIE

Sofie poured a slightly hazy yellow like the second pee on a hazy post-drinking morning. The head was white and persistent. The aroma was of citrus and wild yeast and was very inviting. There was some zesty orange peel and a hint of vanilla in the finish. The finish was sweet and dry.

Price was okay, but not great. $10/4

My Beer Advocate Rating 4.18

My Rate Beer Rating 4.1

pepenero_full_2011PEPE NERO

Pepe Nero poured a deep copper color with a resilient off-white head. It was darker than I expected from a Saison, but taking note that it contained black malt I adjusted my expectations as best as I could. The aroma was roasty, nutty and a bit citrusy. The flavor was peppery and nutty with just a hint of citrus and a bit of chocolate. Overall, the beer was god, but not quite what I am looking for in a Siason. Keep in mind, it did win a Gold Medal as a Siason so what do I know?

Price was okay, but not great. $10/4

My Beer Advocate Rating 3.78

My Rate Beer Rating 3.7

Leave a Reply

